Get 25% off the Advanced Edition for Mac or PC

Shop Now

Sale Ends June 5 at Midnight PST.

Elements & Modes

In astrology, the elements & modes are the basic building blocks of the zodiac. Each of the twelve signs have an element and a mode and the two together is what gives that sign it's qualities.

Below you will find information about the Elements & Modes from our acclaimed TimePassages Astrology App.


The Fire element is masculine or yang, and is active and outwardly expressive in its basic nature. It corresponds with the Jungian typology of Intuition. Fire is a radiant form of energy that brings light to the world around it, enthusiastic and excitable, self-oriented, impatient and essentially optimistic. Fire people are honest to a fault, freedom loving and often insist on their own point of view. They live in the idealism of great thoughts and deeds.

The fire signs are: Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius


The Earth element is feminine or yin, in-taking and receptive. It corresponds to the Jungian typology of Sensation. The Earth energy is grounded and heavy, responding to the gravity of physical circumstances and limitations. Earth people are in touch with their bodies and the pleasures of the physical world around them. They are givers of form and structure. They endure. They are self-sufficient in a way that the lighter Fire and Air elements are not.

The earth signs are: Capricorn, Taurus, and Virgo


The Air element is the masculine or yang energy representing the breath or prana - the realm of ideas and archetypal associations that link the physical and non-physical world together. It corresponds to the Jungian typology of Thinking. All forms of relationship and thought fall within its purview. Air people tend to live in their heads, being logical and scientific, as well as curious about what is around them and detached in their outlook. They dream the world into being with their future-oriented conceptions. They choose all parties to a dispute rather than taking sides, and thus provide the social linkage that can join disparate groups to each other.

The air signs are: Libra, Aquarius, and Gemini


The Water element is the feminine or yin energy of emotion. It corresponds to the Jungian typology of Feeling. Receptive and sensitive to subtle currents of interconnection, it flows through everything and connects at a deeper and more unconscious level than that provided by logical thought. Water people are tuned in to a deeper and subtler reality than other types around them. Their emotions range the gamut from fear and dislike to an unconditional acceptance and love of the world and the creatures they find within it. They can be security oriented and respond well to the solidity, direction and form provided by others. At their best they provide a powerful connection to the divine within themselves and each person in their surrounding milieu.

The water signs are: Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces


Initiating, assertive, direct, and active. Cardinal placements in the birth chart represent where you take charge, assert your will power, and make your desires, and intentions known.

The cardinal signs are: Aries, Cancer, Libra, and Capricorn


Stable, steady, anchored. Fixed placements in the birth chart represent where you have staying power, are not easily swayed, and prioritize safety and security.

The fixed signs are: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, and Aquarius


Flexible, adaptable, and dynamic. Mutable placements in the birth chart represent where you are amenable, crave variety, and able to adjust more easily to change.

The mutable signs are: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, and Pisces


We respect your privacy. Our website is using cookies for analytics, language and user settings. By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies, Privacy Policy and Terms of Sale.
I agree